History of Sharia Faculty

          The Faculty of Sharia started its activities in 1993 within the framework of Balkh University. It was established due to the efforts of the officials of the time and based on the urgent needs of the society. The purpose of creating this faculty was to train specialized and committed academic cadres in the fields of justice, guidance, education. Currently, the faculty with three departments is trying to fulfill its religious and national goals.

          The faculty initially started its academic activities with one department, four lecturers and two disciplines (vocational education and general education), which later became known as Islamic education and currently has 13 lecturers. Then, the Department of "Jurisprudence and Law" started its activities in 2002 within the framework of this faculty with three experienced lecturers and currently has 9 lecturers.

          Also, in order to improve the subject of "Islamic culture" which is taught in all disciplines of the university, the Department of Islamic Culture was established in 2008 and started its activities with three lecturers. Currently, this department has 11 lecturers.

          The Faculty of Sharia has three departments with a total of 33 lecturers. Of these lecturers, only one holds a doctorate, 12 have a master's degree and the remaining 20 have a bachelor's degree. Also, three teachers have academic the rank of Pohanwal, two of them are Pohandoi, four them are Pohanmal, thirteen of them are Pohanyar and the rest are candidates for Pohanyar.    

          The Faculty of Sharia has graduated 23 cohorts of students. The total number of graduates is 2609. Currently, the Faculty of Sharia has 675 students in the day shift, about 38% of them are women.

          In addition, for the practical works of students in the Faculty of Sharia and Law, there is a legal clinic that was established in 2012. In this clinic, in addition to programs provided by the faculty, there are some agreements with domestic and foreign organizations that provide funding for capacity building programs.